top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndy White

Free Indeed!



"Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed." (John 8:36)

Lately, I've been realizing a new found freedom in my life. I have been finding a fresh sense of freedom in the spirit! I can hardly remember a time that I have felt so free before! Freedom from the fear of man. Freedom from the opinions of others. Freedom from the tyranny of false choices. Freedom from a myriad of diverse fears! And honestly, the only reason that I can possibly give for it is, that. it's simply the grace of God doing His work of perfect love in me! The psalmist said, "The Lord will perfect that which concerns me..." (Ps138:8), and there is nothing greater nor more perfect that God's love towards me! Moreover, John tells us that, "...perfect love casts out fear." (1Jn. 4:18)

Trusting in God's perfect love gives me freedom from fear! Freedom from fear! That's what so many of us truly need in these days! We are all sensing something isn't right! We are all witnessing the unraveling of society all around us. It's not a secret! There's a great storm coming! But the household of God doesn't have to fear the storm! We can absolutely have freedom from the fear of the storm! Now, to be clear, freedom from fear of the approaching storm doesn't mean I don't recognize the seriousness of the situation or ignore the storm that is coming. Rather, it means that I can prepare for the storm with courage and faith. Knowing that, "You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You." (Is.26:3)

Now, before I go on, I want you to understand that I am writing these things with the intent of encouraging you to lay hold of a faith that brings a great freedom and peace to your heart and soul! I am writing this with my eye fixed upon the never changing principles of God's word that ought to govern over all of life. I am not speaking merely or solely in regards to the present crisis of this time.


That being said however, this past year or so has indeed been a revealing illustration of the point at hand. I have seen so many around me making many of their decisions and choices based on fear. For example, I have heard conversations that went like this; One person saying they are making a decision to do something because of their fear of what might happen if they don't comply with a certain thing. The other person said they were going to do the exact opposite because of their fear of what would happen if they did do it! (I am purposefully being nebulous regarding the topic of the discussion) because the point I want to make is that the entire conversation was all based in fear and not faith! It was all based upon earthly wisdom which simply demonstrated to me how apparent it is that they are walking under the tyranny of fear. There is no freedom of the spirit there! They are submitting to what they themselves admit are bad choices. Their fears dictating and not even allowing them to consider for even a mere moment, an alternative choice in faith and freedom of conscience, and principle. It is more than evident to me that fear, and not faith, rules the day. Too many are being held in bondage wittingly, or not, to their fears! It is fear that causes the people of God to sacrifice heavenly wisdom on the altar of earthly pragmatism! It reminds me that Jesus raised the question, "...when the Son of man comes will He really find faith on the earth?"(Lk18:8).

For me, the issue is simply this: Do I desire to have a faith that overcomes both my innate fears and overcomes this world? Because a faith that overcomes this world frees me to just be concerned with what is pleasing to the Lord, and what is approved of by Him. For it is to Him alone to whom I must give an account.

Solomon warned us that, "The fear of man brings a snare...", (Prov.29:25), but that, "The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life, To turn one away from the snares of death." (Prov.14:27). Furthermore, Jesus Himself also told us, "...do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell." (Matt.10-:28)

It is His perfect love that casts out fear and produces in me an overcoming faith that frees me from the tyranny of false choices! The only choice that I have to make is to obey God...or not. Come what may. No. I will not bow down to the pragmatics of the moment in order to avoid being thrown into the fiery furnace! Pragmatics may get me out of the fiery furnace for the moment only to be thrown into an everlasting fire in the end! Yes! There is the fear of man which leads to death, and there is the fear of God which leads to life. The fear of man is deceitfully enslaving but the fear of God is delightfully liberating! Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage!

"(Therefore)...whoever keeps His word, truly the love of God is perfected in him. By this we know that we are in Him..." (1Jn. 2:5)

The Father’s love is liberating! To truly know and apprehend that love, would cause us to walk in a freedom and liberty unfettered by the chains of fear, doubt, and uncertainty. When fear is displaced by faith, we become overcomers! "And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith." (1Jn.5:4)

Now! Lay hold of this! God has given each one of us a measure of faith! He has not given us a spirit of fear! Moreover, His perfect love not only casts out fear, it also gives us boldness. The scripture declares to us that, "Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgment..." (1Jn.4:17)

I am free! And freedom feels good! Freedom emboldens me, and allows me to walk in this world, "...know(ing) that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son..." (Rom.8:28). Conformed to the image of His son! That's the goal of Christian faith! (Or, at least it's supposed to be and ought to be.)

Let me tell you! Freedom feels good! It liberates me to walk with my eye fixed on the true prize of my faith. And for me personally, the true prize of my faith is that I might know Him and be found in Him! It means being transformed into His image and not being conformed to this worlds image. As He also exhorts, "I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God." (Rom.12:1-2)

There is so much more than can be said, and has been said regarding these things, but I will sum it all up with this for now; "Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgment; because as He is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear..." (1Jn.4:12). Boldness in the day of judgement! Yes! I can have peace even in the midst of the storm! Because I know that even God's judgements are an attribute of His love! Therefore, I do not have to fear even in the day of judgement! I do not have to fear the evil day!

As it is written;

“You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day, Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday. A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you. Only with your eyes shall you look, And see the reward of the wicked. Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place, No evil shall befall you, Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling...You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra, The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot....Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.” (Ps.91)

Truly, he whom the Son sets free is free indeed! His grace is still amazing to me! Andy White

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios

No se pudieron cargar los comentarios
Parece que hubo un problema técnico. Intenta volver a conectarte o actualiza la página.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page